Programme - Event list


EuroScience General Assembly


Chair: Professor Lauritz Holm-Nielsen, EuroScience President

The EuroScience General Assembly is open to all Associate, Full and Corporate members of EuroScience. In fact, anyone interested in EuroScience and its activities is invited to join.

EuroScience Rammal and Science Writers Award

Open session

ES room

The European Science Writers Award is given to editors and writers for their achievements for promotion of science journalism in Europe since 2001. The senior prize so called “Award for Lifetime Achievements” and the two “Junior” prizes are awarded every two years at the EuroScience Open Forum-ESOF. They consist of a certificate and a small grant.

The Rammal medal bears the name of a Lebanese researcher, Rammal Rammal (1951-1991), whose career was international and who devoted his life, not only to advancing science, but also to fostering good human relations through the pursuit and exchange of knowledge, especially in the Mediterranean region. Thus, the aim of the Rammal Jury in selecting the recipient of this award is to recognize not only research of the highest quality performed either by a scientist or by a group of scientists working in the region, but also a commitment to make science more accessible or bring its benefits to the population of Mediterranean countries.  Moreover, the award is attributed also for positive actions in a broader social, international or educational context.



Hosted by the South African Department of Science & Technology (DST), on behalf of Minister Pandor and the Japan Science & Technology Agency (JST), on behalf of Dr Nakamura, Counselor to the President & Former JST President, this science diplomacy platform serves as an educator, leader, spokesperson and hub for 100 like-minded internationalists striving to advance science around the world via public engagement platforms. European Commissioner for Research, Science & Innovation, Carlos Moedas is guest speaker while first insights into the hosting of ‘Science Agora’ in Tokyo from 3 – 6 November, 2016 and ‘Science Forum South Africa’ in Pretoria from 8 – 9 December, 2016 will be given.